# **Call for Papers**

------

## The 9th ACM Symposium on Information, Computer and Communications Security

ACM ASIACCS 2014

Kyoto, Japan

June 2nd - 6th 2014

http://asiaccs2014.nict.go.jp

\_\_\_\_\_\_

#### **IMPORTANT DATES**

Submission Deadline: 6 December 2013, 23:59 UTC (Firm Deadline)

EXTENDED DEADLINE 16 December 2013, 23:59 UTC

Workshop Proposal Deadline: 6 December 2013

EXTENDED DEADLINE 16 December 2013, 23:59 UTC

Acceptance Notification: 27 January 2014
EXTENDED 4 February 2014
Camera-ready Copy Due: 28 February 2014
EXTENDED 31 March 2014

Conference: 4-6 June 2014 (2-3 June 2014 for workshops)

#### **CONFERENCE SCOPE**

Building on the success of ACM Conference on Computer and Communications Security (CCS) and ACM Transactions on Information and System Security (TISSEC), the ACM Special Interest Group on Security, Audit, and Control (SIGSAC) formally established the annual ACM Symposium on InformAtion, Computer and Communications Security (ASIACCS). The inaugural ASIACCS was held in Taipei (2006). Since then ASIACCS has been held in Singapore (2007), Tokyo (2008), Sydney (2009), Beijing (2010), Hong Kong (2011), Seoul (2012), and Hangzhou (2013).

ASIACCS 2014 is the ninth conference of the series, and will be held in Kyoto, Japan, a city renowned for its historic relics and natural beauty. Kyoto was (and some say still is a) capital of Japan for over a millennium, and contains many sites of cultural significance, including some of the most famous temples and shrines in Japan as well as imperial palaces and gardens. In addition, Kyoto is home to Nintendo among many other computer companies.

ASIACCS is a major international forum for information security researchers, practitioners, developers, and users to explore and exchange the newest cyber security ideas, breakthroughs, findings, techniques, tools, and experiences. We invite submissions from academia, government, and industry presenting novel research on all theoretical and practical aspects of computer and network security. Areas of interest for ASIACCS 2014 include, but are not limited to:

- Access control - Accounting and audit

- Anonymity - Applied cryptography

- Authentication

- Data and application security

- Embedded systems security

- Hardware-based security

- Intrusion detection

- Malware and botnets

- Network security

- Privacy-enhancing technology

- Security metrics

- Trusted computing

**Program Chairs:** 

- Web security

- Cloud computing security

- Digital forensics

- Formal methods for security

- Inference control and disclosure

- Key management

- Mobile computing security

- Operating system security

- Security architectures

- Software security

- Usable security and privacy

- Wireless security

### PAPER SUBMISSIONS

Submissions must be written in English, and must be at most 10 pages excluding the bibliography and well-marked appendices, and at most 12 pages overall. Committee members are not required to read appendices, so the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions must be in double-column ACMSIG Proceedings format (http://www.acm.org/sigs/publications/proceedings-templates, both Option 1 and Option 2 on the page are fine) with page numbers. No changes to margins, spacing, or font sizes are allowed from those specified by the style file. We reserve the right to request the source files for a submission to verify compliance with this requirement. Only PDF files will be accepted.

All submissions must be anonymized. An author's name should occur only in references to that author's related work, which should be referenced in the third person and not overtly distinguishable from the referenced work of others. Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal, conference or workshop. Simultaneous submission of the same work is not allowed. Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their papers will be presented at the conference.

Accepted papers will be published by ACM Press as conference proceedings in USB thumb drives and in the ACM Digital Library. Final proceedings versions will be 10 pages in double-column ACM format, although authors will have the option of buying a limited number of additional pages. In addition to regular papers, some short papers could also be accepted and included in the proceedings.

#### **ORGANIZATION**

Honorary Chair: Koji Nakao, NICT/KDDI, Japan

General Chair: Shiho Moriai, NICT, Japan

Trent Jaeger, Penn State University, USA

Kouichi Sakurai, Kyushu University, Japan

Workshop Chair: Vinod Ganapathy, Rutgers University, USA

Local Organizing Chair: Tetsutaro Uehara, Ritsumeikan University, Japan

Publicity Chair: Ryo Nojima, NICT, Japan

Financial Chair: Sachiko Kanamori, NICT, Japan

**Program Committee:** Gail-Joon Ahn, Arizona State University, USA Joonsang Baek, Khalifa University of ST&R, UAE Elisa Bertino, Purdue University, USA Ioana Boureanu, EPFL, Switzerland Kevin Butler, University of Oregon, USA Justin Cappos, NYU Polytechnic University, USA Alvaro Cardenas, UT Dallas, USA Kefei Chen, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China Liqun Chen, HP Labs, UK Sherman S. M. Chow, Chinese University of Hong Kong, China Michael Clarkson, George Washington University, USA Matthew Fredrikson, University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA Debin Gao, Singapore Management University, Singapore Thomas Gross, University of Newcastle, UK Guofei Gu, Texas A&M University, USA Ragib Hasan, University of Alabama, Birmingham, USA Sushil Jajodia, George Mason University, USA Xuxian Jiang, North Carolina State University, USA Ruediger Kapitza, TU Braunschweig, Germany Stefan Katzenbeisser, TU Darmstadt, Germany Hiroaki Kikuchi, Meiji University, Japan Dong Seong Kim, University of Canterbury, New Zealand Xuejia Lai, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China Engin Kirda, Northeastern University, USA Ruby Lee, Princeton University, USA Chin-Laung Lei, National Taiwan University, Taiwan Jiangtao Li, Intel Corporation, USA Ninghui Li, Purdue University, USA Yingjiu Li, Singapore Management University, Singapore Zhichun Li, NEC Labs, USA Zhiwei Li, UC Berkeley, USA Zhenkai Liang, National University, Singapore Zhiqiang Lin, UT Dallas, USA Harsha Madhyastha, UC Riverside, USA Aziz Mohaisen, Verisign Labs, USA David Naccache, Ecole Normale Suprieure, France Daniela Oliveira, Bowdoin College, USA Xinming Ou, Kansas State University, USA Zachary Peterson, Cal Poly SLO, USA Mathias Payer, UC Berkeley, USA Michalis Polychronakis, Columbia University, USA Georgios Portokalidis, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA Christian Probst, TU of Denmark, Denmark Zhiyun Qian, NEC Labs, USA Kui Ren, University of Buffalo, USA Susmita Ruj, University of Ottawa, Canada Pierangela Samarati, University of Milan, Italy Nuno Santos, MPI-SWS, Germany Joshua Schiffman, Advanced Micro Devices, USA Micah Sherr, Georgetown University, USA Dongwan Shin, New Mexico Tech University, USA Christian Skalka, University of Vermont, USA Abhinav Srinistava, AT&T Labs -- Research, USA Angelos Stavrou, George Mason University, USA Willy Susilo, University of Wollongong, Australia Patrick Tague, CMU Silicon Valley, USA Gang Tan, Lehigh University, USA Mahesh Tripunitara, University of Waterloo, Canada Wen-Guey Tzeng, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan Eugene Vasserman, Kansas State University, USA

Wen-Guey Tzeng, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan Hayawardh Vijayakumar, Penn State University, USA Rui Wang, Microsoft Research, USA Guoliang Xue, Arizona State University, USA

Jianying Zhou, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore

Moti Yung, Google & Columbia University, USA

Yuji Watanabe, IBM Research, Japan
Danfeng Yao, Virginia Tech University, USA
Fangguo Zhang, Sun Yat-sen University, China

Huaxiong Wang, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore